Tuesday, 9. 11. 2010

Ljubljana city council

The constitutive meeting, the first meeting of Ljubljana City Council after the elections, was held on Monday 8 November 2010.

At the constitutive meeting, Mayor Zoran Janković solemnly swore the oath of office and thus officially began his second term as mayor, having been re-elected with an overwhelming majority at the mayoral elections on Sunday 10 October 2010.

The constitutive meeting of Ljubljana City Council, which in line with standing orders was chaired by the oldest councillor Marjan Jernej Virant (Zoran Janković's List), comprised 43 of the 45 newly-elected councillors. The only absentees were the two councillors from the Slovenian Pensioners' Party.

The meeting’s first business was the Report of the City Electoral Commission on the outcome of the regular elections to the City Council and the Report of the City Electoral Commission on the outcome of the regular election of the Mayor of the City of Ljubljana. Both reports may be found in Slovene on our website.

Then the mandates of the councillors were confirmed and a declaratory resolution on the election of the new mayor was adopted.

Fewer than half of the councillors were newcomers, with 28 being re-elected. In this term of office seven electoral lists are represented, one fewer than in the previous mandate (the List for Clean Drinking Water having lost its presence on the Council).

The largest group on the City Council remains Zoran Janković's List with 25 councillors, followed by the Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) with 9 and the Social Democrats (SD) with 4. The Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS), New Slovenia (NSi) and the Greens have two each and the Liberal Democrats (LDS) one.

The constitutive meeting of the City Council closed with Mayor Zoran Janković's solemn oath of office and his inaugural address.